New Directions

Today is 10/10/10 … an event that supposedly only happens once every 100 years. I guess it depends on how you look at it and whether you take into account all the 9/9/9’s and 12/12/12’s and 1/1/1’s out there. But I suppose there’s a gap of a 100 years between all of those as well, so maybe it is a once-in-a-100-years affair after all. Will have to ask my grandchildren to confirm.

10/10/10 is also a perfect score in Dancing with the Stars show, which I must admit can be pretty amazing sometimes. Hardly anyone gets the perfect score on that show, so it’s a pretty special occasion when it happens.

10/10/10 is also a turkey in bowling, assuming the three 10s are consecutive and all strikes. Some of my best memories from high school revolve around disco bowling with my close friends – an activity which consisted of singing, jumping, dancing, eating, high fiving, picture taking and … bowling. Bowling turkeys don’t come that often either, so it’s a rather special occasion as well.

Today is 10/10/10 and it is exactly 245 days since my last and only post, which is a little pathetic, considering I had high aspirations for keeping up with the blog and writing down my thoughts on a more regular basis. 245 days is way too long, so today we are taking a new approach to this blog business.

Starting today, I will be keeping track of all the photos, videos, articles, websites and events that get my thinking juices flowing. There is so much greatness out there, so much talent, so much beauty, so much passion, so much excitement, so much life!! I love it!! RAH!! Every day I come across something that intrigues me, something that inspires me, something that captures my attention and makes me want to share it with the world. This will be my outlet for such sharing. I’m sure not everyone will interpret everything in a similar fashion, but that’s the beauty of it all. We are all so different and unique and beautiful. Ahhh … life. How crazy mad in love with you I am! 🙂

So … let’s begin.

Yesterday I came across this amazing video about connecting with others. It does an amazing job of showing how attached we’ve all become to technology and how we sometimes forget to look around and notice those around us – those people around us. It’s fascinating riding on a subway these days and looking around to see 3/4 of the people on their cell phones and iPods, typing away, playing games, watching videos, listening to music and paying absolutely no attention to the world around them. People watching is one of my favorite things to do and I can’t help but notice this technological obsession in today’s culture. I think having access and staying connected to the important people in our life is important, but there needs to be a limit to how much we talk, text and not pay attention to others.

Before I forget, here’s that video…

Another interesting observation I’ve made recently, which is perhaps tied to our obsessive use of technology in public areas, is how unhappy everyone looks. Maybe it’s just Singapore and the nature of the morning/evening commute, but I rarely see anyone smiling anymore. This is more relevant for single travelers, I suppose, who don’t have the pleasure of their friends’ company, but what about the rest of us commuters? We are there. We keep you company. We are all going somewhere together. I think public transportation, Singapore and the world in general would be such a better place if everyone remembered to smile every once in a while. Particularly towards complete strangers. Especially for no particular reason. I think those kind of smiles are always the best and have the amazing power of making somebody’s day. 🙂

On that note, I will conclude my post for the moment and go smile at some strangers on the street.  Today is 10/10/10 after all.

Cheers. 🙂

Leave a comment